A 50-year Trekkie bestows Star Trek history upon the next generation: How fandom and fanfiction sparked the galaxy’s most controversial romance

spockslash:

skyywalkerfen:

legobiwan:

stars-inthe-sky:

A wonderful piece about fandom history, friendships, and legacies.

Dee called AO3 a “candy store,” and said the fan art she has seen, in particular, has been overwhelming. “I cannot get over the art,” she said. “We would have jumped at this. I would’ve given my right tit for all this art when I was in my twenties. Because you couldn’t reproduce it, you couldn’t send it out, but [now] there’s this fabulous art coming out every single day.”

Yes. Yes. Yes.  This is how it happened.  Excellent article.

Thanks to the author for permission to share this here, and for being
just a really nice human being, and big thanks to the artist who did my
mom’s portrait, above. -Zachary

A 50-year Trekkie bestows Star Trek history upon the next generation: How fandom and fanfiction sparked the galaxy’s most controversial romance

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.